Snow Day on Inauguration Day!

What luck! It’s snowing AND it’s Inauguration Day! And not just any Inauguration Day. Today, our country will make history by installing its first Black President.

I know I will cry. I get sappy about momentous events. A good chunk of my tears will reflect my pride in this nation. How thrilled I am that we the people looked past what’s best for ourselves, and voted for what’s best for our country as a whole on Election Day.

I’d love for all races to run out into the streets at noon and start hugging each other; I think that’s the fairytale writer in me. I know that’s not how it will happen. But I hope after four years in office, we will feel more bonded to those of a skin color not our own. I can’t wait to see the wonderful things in store for our nation over the next 1,400ish tomorrows.

Leave a comment

Filed under my online writer's notebook

Leave a comment