SOL: Reasons to Smile

It’s March 2nd. Applications for the graduate program at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill were only due yesterday, though I submitted mine weeks ago. I talked myself into believing I wouldn’t hear anything until April, earliest. So imagine my surprise when I opened my mailbox and found an over-sized yellow envelope with a UNC- School of Education return address.

When I got back in the car from emptying the mailbox, Bret asked in his usually chipper voice, “What’d we get, hun?” My fingers were too busy ripping into the envelope to respond (miraculously though, no paper cuts). I pulled out the thin stack of papers. My mind was too busy scanning for “congratulations” for it to have figured out that any additional papers at all would have been a good sign.

“I got in!” The proud smile beamed across my face as I turned to my husband for a congratulatory hug.

Yea for Graduate School

“Huh? Got in what?”

[REALLY?!?!]

“Carolina. Graduate School. I’m in!”

[Now it clicks] “I told you you had nothing to worry about. [a pause] Didn’t waste anytime with that envelope though.”

After phone calls to my parents and Bret’s parents and Facebook comments on my status (thanks friends!), I have many reasons to smile. I get to be a student again; I’m going to share my experiences and insights with other educators who want to further their education; best of all, I will learn and think more and so will my students. Master’s in K-12 Literacy, here I come!

3 Comments

Filed under 1

3 responses to “SOL: Reasons to Smile

  1. Lisa

    How cool! I love the feeling that comes from finding out things are going to go they way you want them to.

  2. That’s wonderful news! Congrats on this milestone.

  3. Excellent! Congratulations! With the enthusiasm I feel coming off this post, it’s clear you’re going to love working toward your MA!

Leave a Reply

