Relaxing

There is nothing quite like a quiet night at home. These days, they are so few and far between that I savor them like the chocolate under the hard Cadbury Mini-Egg shell (love those things!). After the hustle of teaching and the bustle of preparing for tomorrow, I’m happy to finally be home.

Tonight, I have spent my evening curled up on my couch next to my dogs and my husband, eating grilled cheese and tomato soup, watching America’s Funniest Home videos in between the last set of the top 36 American Idol Contestants. I have laughed aloud at people falling off tables and have booed with the audience when Simon said something mean. I have done nothing productive (excluding producing this idea for a slice) and for once, this isn’t bothering me in the slightest.

The other day while I was getting my hair cut, my stylist finally said to me, “Well I know you teach because that’s all you ever talk about, but what do you do for fun?” My answer? At first I thought read professional literature (which yes, I do find to be great fun, but I don’t think that’s what she’s asking for). Then design new interdisciplinary units of study popped in my mind. Write… Redesign my class website… Am I lame? Every answer that came to mind was school related.

It dawned on me because apparently I’ve never realized it before. School is my fun. Maybe it’s time for me to do something non-school related. And so, tonight’s evening of comfort food and mildly entertaining television came to be.

I finally have an answer for my stylist’s question. “I’m trying this new thing called relaxing. It’s quite nice every once in a while.”

2 Comments

Filed under 1

2 responses to “Relaxing

  1. I had no idea about sq. rt. day!

  2. Relaxing, eh? Maybe I should give it a try? Glad you spent the night taking it easy. That grilled cheese and tomato soup sounded perfect!

Leave a Reply

